Rancho Sisquoc

Owner(s) Flood Family
Web site www.ranchosisquoc.com
Link to this site

This iconic winery in Santa Maria has over 320 acres of vineyards on a 37,000-acre cattle ranch that was purchased in 1952 by James and Elizabeth Flood of San Francisco. Rancho Sisquoc is part of an 1852 Spanish land grant. The Chumash Indians called this area "Sisquoc," which meant "gathering place." Bordeaux, Burgundy and Tuscan varieties are grown. The initial planting occurred in the late 1960s (Johannisberg Riesling and Cabernet Sauvignon). Ranch Sisquoc became a bonded winery in 1977 and a tasting room was built. Ed Holt became the ranch manager in 1987, expanded the vineyard and winery operation,and still lives and works on the ranch.

In 2007, a Pinot Noir was released from the Flood Family Vineyards in Santa Barbara County. Multiple other varietal wines are produced, totaling 20,000 cases per year. The winemaker is Alec Franks who arrived at Rancho Sisquoc in 1997. Vineyard manager Francisco Gutierrez has been with Ranch Sisquoc since 1975.

A tasting room is open daily on the Foxen Canyon Wine Trail. The wines are also sold online.

Articles About Rancho Sisquoc

function loadResizer() { $("#wineresizer").resizable({ disabled: true }); }

© 2003-2023 Rusty Gaffney MD | Contact the Prince: Prince@PrinceOfPinot.com | Admin Login